These days, it seems that an increasing number of people are leaving rural areas to live in the
city.
Discuss some of the effects of rural depopulation (migration from the country to the city ) and
suggest some ways on which this trend could be reversed.
While country towns were once vibrant and growing places, these days may appear to be
dying as people move to the city in search of work and excitement. In this essay, I intend to
discuss the impact of this problem as well as how more people could be encouraged to live in rural areas.
Surprisingly, the most serious consequences of rural depopulation are often felt in urban areas.
As a result of overcrowding, cities throughout the world today are increasingly prone to
environmental problems like air, water and noise pollution. Beijing is a particularly good example
of this. Further, the uncontrolled growth of cities also gives rise to social problems such as high
unemployment, crime and in less affluent countries, the creation of slums. Clearly, there is a
limit to how many people can live in one area before living standards are negatively influenced.
In order to stem the tide of rural depopulation, I believe we must first address its root causes.
At the heart of the matter is the disparity between services and facilities in the country and
those in the city. I firmly believe that urban and rural dwellers alike would find the idea of
country life far more appealing if high-quality shopping centres, cinemas, swimming pools,
restaurants, libraries, schools and hospitals were more readily available in the country. One
further method of attracting people to the country would be for the government to provide
financial incentives to business and professional workers who willingly relocate to rural areas.