Men and women are different in terms of their characteristics and abilities. For this reason,
some jobs are better done by men and others by women.
Do you agree or disagree?
These days, it seems that more women are entering “male occupations” than ever before and vice
versa. While some still hold to the conservative view that certain jobs are better performed by
men and others by women, it is my personal belief that people of their sex are capable of doing
any job effectively. The reasons for my position are as follows.
First of all, I believe it is a mistake to base our views on broad generalisations about the
characteristics of men and women as such stereotypes are often inaccurate. Although there are
certain traits which are typical of men and others which are typical of women, there are
exceptions to every rule. Not all women are physically weak, just as not all men are poor
interpersonal communicators; conventional gender roles are not appropriate for everybody. If a
man and woman desire to pursue a career which is traditionally reserved for the opposite sex, I
believe he/ she should be provided with the opportunity to prove him/ herself capable.
Secondly, I would contend that the presence of both males and females in a workplace brings a
sense of balance. Men and women frequently, though by no means always, have different
methods of doing things. Rather than judging these differences to be a weakness, I feel that we
should view them as opportunities for innovation and the discovery of more effective and
efficient work practices. A person’s weakness can thus be transformed into strengths.
In summary, I once again reaffirm my position that both male and female employees are an asset
to any industry and as our stereotypes about men and women are not always appropriate, we
must not discourage anyone from choosing an occupation simply because of his/ her gender.