Giving lectures in auditoriums to large numbers of students is an old way of teaching. With the technology available today there is no justification for it, and everything should be done online. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Give your own opinion

In this day and ages, whether the traditional teaching method or online learning is superior has caused a heated debate. Personally, I believe giving lectures in halls in front of lots of students is, by far, more beneficial.

First, there is little room for doubt that the conventional way of teaching with frequent face-to-face interaction is of paramount importance to the progress of each student. This is because, a human teacher rather than a robot, plays a critical role as, not only, a lecturer passing on knowledge and skills, but a partner who can recognize student’s strengths and weaknesses and provide support when in need. To illustrate, I used to be a student who often received low marks in Math, but thanks to all repetitious elaboration and encouragement from my head teacher, I managed to pass the final exam with flying colors.

Second, presenting lectures solely online also presents problems of students not being motivated to keep watching full videos. It would be too tough to manage who is actually viewing the lesson and if students know this, they are prone to play truant by just leaving the computer on and consequently not well-prepared for exams. For instance, Edumall, a leading Internet-based learning company, found that only 12% of customers who purchased online courses, strictly followed the duration of each video, principally due to lack of sufficient supervision.

Granted, it also true that learning via a computer is advantageous to many people, who cannot regularly attend lesson in traditional classrooms. As a result, it may enable them to access knowledge, but saving time and money. However, the outcome of this method is still limited.

In conclusion, it is my belief that attending lectures in auditoriums with large numbers of other students can greatly benefit the progress of leaners and reduce the drop-off possibility in student attendance.