Some people think that an international car-free day is an effective way of reducing air pollution, others think there are some other ways. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

The deterioration of air has been an alarming issue across the globe. While some people insist that organizing a no-car day is a workable measure, I personally believe that there are other methods of more effectiveness in alleviating this contamination.

There are several grounds for arguing than an international car-free day can reduce air pollution severity. Firstly, exhaust fumes could be cut off which diminishes the carbon footprint, the primary cause of Greenhouse Effect. This expectation stems from the huge success of the Earth hour program that has been globally conducted for many years and made significant contribution to reduce the electricity consumption. Secondly, on that day, commuters have to opt for other means of transportation such as walking, bus or subway and as a result, they may be aware of the mobility and convenience of those methods in comparison with cars. Thus, this way can cultivate a better commuting habits among residents in the long run.

On the other hand, I think this answer is not feasible and sustainable enough as it lasts for only one day. Instead, what is worth noting is that the main culprit of air contamination is exhaust fumes from industry, so there would be an international collaboration in setting a limit its emission. In fact, the 24th C.O.P conference held in Paris agreed that if American cut down its industrial fumes by 5%, the Global warming rate will decrease by 8%. Another important measure should be investment in energy-efficient engines so that commuters not only greatly benefit from the comfort and safety of cars but the quantity of air pollutants in the atmosphere is controlled.

In conclusion, the program to encourage motorists to give up their car for one day is a good idea to deal with pollution, but the government need to simultaneously take other measures as global cooperation and advancement of car technology.