These days, it seems that an increasing number of people are leaving rural areas to live in the

city.

Discuss some of the effects of rural depopulation (migration from the country to the city ) and

suggest some ways on which this trend could be reversed.

The past 50 years have witnessed a remarkable shift of population from rural areas to urban ones, which undoubtedly leads to various consequences. And the goal of this essay is to highlight those negative outcomes and put forward feasible methods to curb this tendency.

It is manifest that the accelerating migration from the countryside to the metropolises gives rise to a number of undesirable effects. Firstly, the massive depopulation in a rural area has huge impacts on its economic prospect. This is because the majority of the population are children and older people, which results in the unavoidable shortage of labour in traditional careers, such as craft, which is put in the brink of extinction. Another alarming consequence is that the overcrowding in large cities could trigger many problems, such as the higher proportion of poverty and joblessness. Take Mumbai, the capital city of India, which has seen a remarkable increase in the number of immigrants recently, as a telling example. This city has encountered an uncontrolled number of pick-pocketing cases and slums, especially in less-affluent regions.

However, the government could take effective solutions to reverse this trend. The most workable method should be to raise barriers to tighten the migration flow to towns and cities. In other words, the residence right in such areas should be solely authorized to a minority of the population, under special supervision. Furthermore, local authorities should issue policies, ensuring an ideal business environment and incentives should also be proposed to encourage young graduates to contribute to their hometown. The government in Ninh Binh, achieving a huge success after rewarding a subsidy of 10 million dong for excellent-degree bachelors returning to work in their homeland, would serve as an example.

In conclusion, though the impacts of rural depopulation might be hardly insurmountable, obstacles as well as motivations should be of great effectiveness.