Foreign tourist abroad should be charged more than local people when visiting the local historical and cultural tourist attractions. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There is a common belief that the ticket price of local historical and cultural tourist destinations should be higher among international visitors compared to native residents. I, personally, believe this view is unreasonable.

The argument in favor of increasing prices for foreign tourists would be that those historical and cultural sites are dependent on the state subsidies to keep them operating, which locals have already contributed to through the domestic tax system. However, it is a shortsighted view. This is because foreign visitors also financially support the economy of the host country by their various expenditure on purchasing souvenirs, making use of services, including accommodation and transportation, for instance. In turn, the authorities and inhabitants in every country should be willing to subsidize their heritages to promote the attention from people from the rest of the world and encourage them to pay a visit.

Additionally, if holiday-makers realize that they would be charged more when visiting historical and cultural places in a particular country, they will be likely to change their destinations, which may trigger adverse impacts on this country’s tourism industry. Danang, a province having increasing-popularity tourism, would serve as an excellent example as its landscapes such as Ba Na Hill and Dragon Bridge charge the same price regardless of nationality. Thanks to this, both national and international tourists flock to this area on a yearly basic and an image of a friendly Danang are more fostered. If oversea tourists halt their coming due to costly prices, there would be a risk of lacking fund for maintenance and a large number of labors would be put in the brink of joblessness.

In conclusion, it seems to me that every effort should be made to appeal to foreign visitors and it is counter-productive to force them to pay more than local residents when visiting one specific site.