These days it is very common to have people from two different generations mix in the same workplace. Are there more advantages or disadvantages to this situation? Give your own opinion and include relevant examples.

In today's world it cannot be gainsaid that complex mix of generations in one working area have become the norm in recent years. Traditionalists are found working with boomers and boomers working with generation Xers. Each generation has different work values, different perceptions of authority, and different views. I believe that the advantages of this trend outweigh its drawbacks.

On one hand, understanding the generation gap can make the worksite more productive. Fundamental value differences exist between individuals of different generations; therefore, workforces are becoming increasingly diverse in age demographics, creating professional environments that are rich with experience and maturity as well as youthful exuberance. Companies that employ workers in wide ranges of age have the advantage of creating a dynamic, multi-generational workforce with a diverse range of skill sets and that is beneficial to the company. Young professionals grew up in a high-tech world and have greater familiarity with business technology tools compared to their more mature counterparts. Just as younger generations, even mature members of a workforce have the advantage of traditional business skills. this diversity gives businesses the advantage of being able to communicate and deal with customers across all age spectrums. For example, one customer may prefer the fast pace of email correspondence, while another may appreciate the tradition of a formal business letter. A diverse workforce can cater to both types of customer.

In the other hand, if generational diversity is very effective in an organization, it means the employees can build an organization with more power and bring out a better performance. Some which disturbs the workplace are racism, gender, cultural background, sexual orientation, and disability. These kinds of discussion might make the environment more heated, which might end in politics in workplace. Informal formal communication has been never welcomed by matures or boomer. they always tend to keep documents in a written format than a soft copy. Here the issues arise between the multi generations as they wanted everything to quick and instant rather prolonging it using old methods.

To conclude that it is expected to keep the communication open and basic approach is to focus on similarities and not the differences between the various generations. By doing so, embrace the bridge between multi-generational employee at workplace.