These days. many countries, fewer and fewer people want to become teachers, paricularyly in secondary schools

What are the reasons for this, and how could the problem be solved ?

Give reasons for you answer and include any revelant examples from your own knowledge and experience

Write at least 250 words

Over the past few decades, there has been a noticeable change in the number of young people who want to become teachers . This essay will look at the reasons for these problems and discuss several solutions.

One of the main causes of the problem is the teacher’s salaries. The work of teachers cannot be compared with the strenuous difficulties of other professions but working as a teacher requires a lot of time, and encounters a lot of exhausting difficulties. But the teachers’ pay has not kept pace with other professions, such as doctor or lawyer. For example a 5-year doctor can earn more than a teacher with the same or more experience. That’s not fair for them; they deserve more than that; and should be paid a decent salary for what they have done. The solution to tackle this problem is for the government to raise the teachers’ salaries dramatically so that it would attract more people to participate in the profession.

Another problem is that teachers often have to start work very early and sometimes they have to stay late at school, which means that they do not have time to relax and spend time with their families. In fact, although they come home, they have to work at home because they have a huge workload with marking and paperwork. This can lead to many teachers being stressed and exhausted. The things that can be done to tackle this problem is that the government should reduce the burden of work on teachers by appointing more teaching assistants. If the government employed more teaching assistants, it would make teaching a much easier and less stressful job.

In conclusion, there are many reasons why teaching has become much less prevalent in some countries; however there are also a number of viable solutions to counteract this problem. These solutions can improve the poor image of teaching, show the positive sides of teaching and increase the number of young people who want to become teachers in the future