These days many of us prefer to throw damaged things away, whereas in the past people used to repair damaged items and keep them for a long time.

Explain why you think this change has happened.

What are the effects of this change in attitude?

In this contemporary world people tend to consume and throw things away more than ever before. Nowadays people are more wasteful, instead repairing broken items, like it was done some generations ago, they just get rid of it and buy new. This essay will discuss why this change has appeared and what are the possible outcomes of it.

People are consuming more than ever before. Fashion is one of the biggest industries with products ending up in landfills. Clothes became much more affordable, that is why people can buy new clothes more often and throw it without thinking. For example, one of biggest clothing stores - H&H introduced that fashion can change 52 times a year and people could wear different clothes every week. Secondly, products became less durable than before. Companies has interests to sell short lasting items like electrical kitchen equipment with the purpose to sell more in the near future. Sadly, these ideas are based on consumerism model which is hugely unsustainable.

The idea of buying new instead of repairing old leads to environmental pollution. Firstly, it fills our planet with landfills with items which does not decomposes in hundreds of years. For example, plastic is used in most of the products, which later will stay in landfills for 1000 years. Another reason that industries which produces products uses more oil and gas than before to distribute items. This leads to bigger amount of carbon dioxide into our atmosphere. Also, it is believed, that all of this is causing climate change.

In conclusion, nowadays we are used to buy new product instead of repairing. In this society people are choosing easy “popular” way to consume without putting some time and effort to repair with the reason to save the planet from garbage and greenhouse gas emissions.