These days, more and more people like to use their favourite social media websites to get the latest news and learn about what is happening around the world. This leads to confusion and the spread of misinformation more than ever.

Why do you think that social media is not a good source of news?

What can be done to educate people about the danger of spreading misinformation on their social media?

People have always been interested in keeping updated with the current situation in political, economic and social fields. Proceeding from this, nowadays growing number of individuals tend to use their preferable websites as the news sources whereas this method confuses them and results in spreading unconfirmed information. I believe that unproved Internet sites are not good for news acquiring due to the risk of falsification and the given essay will provide suggestions how to teach public about incorrect information propagation.

First of all, people living in the computer age must be aware about the existence of cutting-age programs for photo and video edition which may be used for creating fake news. The software based on the Artificial Intelligence is able to generate variety of materials that look authentic and realistic. Individuals who seize information from unproven Internet sources should be careful and check the validity of the received data. For example, my university graduation work contains the list of the processed Internet sources to confirm correctness of the research. Thus, person who is tend to blindly trust everything they read in the web should remember that data might be not real.

As for the educating the public, I suggest to include online advertisement and law regulating in order to teach people to beware of misinformation. Placing short videos which show an user the issues and consequences of fake news appearing might prevent the spreading go this phenomenon. For instance, in Singapore the citizens and visitors observe advertising posters which declare «Beware of online scammers and never transfer money to unknown person!». Another action which might be taken is government regulation when authorities control and punish the creators of untruthful news. For example, this kind of law operates in Russia thought special agency named The League of The Safe Internet. Hence, to avoid overflow of misinformation informative web advertising and government legal regulation should be used.

To conclude, I believe that not all web pages are good sources for news seizing on the grounds of fraud possibility and people should understand that by watching social online advertisements as well as government suppose to regulate this field by law. The former will play the teaching role for the nation whereas the latter will provide the punishment for misbehavers.