These days more fathers stay at home and take care of their children while

mothers go out to work. Do you think it is a

positive or negative development?

In recent years, there has been a significant increase in the number of men staying at home and taking the role of househusband while women become the primary breadwinners. In my opinion, this development brings both positive and negative effects

On the positive side, the trend shows progression in modern society when men and women enjoy equal rights. In the past, fathers had to provide financial security to their families, while mothers stayed at home and took care of their children so they had little chance at work. But now, women are free from housework, childcare, and join social activities. And they have the ability to make a great contribution to the development of society and the economy. Meanwhile, men having the desire to care for their families or they are not good at earning money because of a lack of necessary skills or being disabled can choose to become stay-at-home dads. They can help to alter perceptions of masculinity, caregiving and fatherhood and redefine social expectations and norms about housework and babysitting. Moreover, being a stay-at-home dad also brings advantages in bringing up children. Because of their father's strictness, children can become more disciplined and mature.

On the negative side, many men staying at home have to face criticism and negative judgments from those who believe that childcare and housework responsibilities should be the jobs of women. Other family members may disapprove when children are being raised mainly by their father so stay-at-home dads are at higher risk of mental illness such as isolation or depression. Moreover, they may get less support because many resources or parent education are primarily designed for mothers and uncomfortable or impossible to join. So their children may have emotional and behavioral problems if they are not nurtured properly. The final negative effect is that stay-at-home dads may struggle financially since it is hard for them to return to the job market in the future.

In conclusion, families with stay-at-home dads need to welcome both positive and negative effects to meet the challenges of the modern world.