Some people think young people should be free to choose the job that they want,
while others believe that they should be realistic and think about their future. Discuss both
views and give your own opinion.
While most young people would prefer to be free to choose the job that they would like to do,
parents may consider their choices unwise. In today’s economic environment, however, I agree
with those who believe that youngsters should make their own work choices.
On the one hand, it is true that young people may be inexperienced judges of how to earn a
living independently of their parents. Firstly, they may have a laid-back attitude and they may
have no career ambitions. This could mean that they simply drift from job to job, without
thinking of pursuing a successful career with promotion opportunities. Secondly, they might
have completely unrealistic dreams of becoming sports stars or famous actors. Therefore, jobs
which offer glamour, adventure or excitement are likely to appeal to youngsters more than the
idea of having a steady job.
On the other hand, I would argue that young people are capable of assessing their own job
prospects . They will be attracted to work which will provide enjoyment and job satisfaction.
In contrast, parents will often be behind the times and set in their ways, thinking of work in
terms of conventional skills. However, in the workplace today, there are few chances to serve a
long apprenticeship or internship as a preparation to move up the career ladder . Companies go
out of business, employees are made redundant, technological changes are rapid, and young
people understand that it is simply better to try for a job which they will enjoy now.
In conclusion, although young people are inexperienced, all the traditional attitudes to work
have fallen by the wayside, and they should be free to choose the job that they want in these
unpredictable times.