These days some people spend a lot of money on tickets to go to sporting or cultural events.

Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

Spending money on sports and cultural events is not new. However, a new trend has been formed among a group of people in societies. They spend lots of money to go to sporting and cultural events. I believe it has more drawbacks than earning.

Some advocate events such as the football world cup and Olympics due to the economical growth, they bring to the host society. Based on statistics of the World Bank, a football world cup can cut the unemployment rate to almost zero percent. Nevertheless, this is short-term and cost to compensate for the damage these happenings cause to the environment is more than the real earning of these events.

A huge amount of energy will be consumed to build buildings to accommodate people during the event. These buildings have to be destroyed after the event as they have no use anymore and usually are left empty if not destroyed. Both building and destruction of these structures damage the environment. In addition, this money can be used to invest in individual education and family. Many researches showed that people tend to put their money on such events rather than their education and family. They are usually with a low-level of education and consequently have difficulty to find a good and stable job, and their family suffers from bad life conditions such as living in an old and horrible apartment.

To sum, I strongly advocate that the new trend as a huge number of drawbacks which some of them have been mentioned in this essay and therefore considering warning people about their harmful effects through media may help to alter the trend.