Today, children and teenagers are committing more crimes.

Why is this case?

How should they be punished ?

It is becoming increasingly common that young people are getting involved in criminal activities. This essay will elaborate on the reasons behind the movement and the punishments for young individuals, who commit law-breaking acts.

Shifts in material wealth and the prevalence of social media platforms can be attributable to the upsurge in juvenile delinquency. As the global economy has witnessed rapid growth in recent decades, many people have taken the advantage of the development to become richer. Meanwhile, the young and underprivileged, who are lack of education and capital, have failed to seize the opportunities, and maintain being impoverished. These people may feel desperate and finally take part in anti-social activities. Additionally, the popularity of social media is also a contributor to crimes among the youth. This is because young individuals tend to be prone to negative patterns of behaviors, which appear to be appealing and easy to imitate, are rife on the platforms.

To tackle the implications that young law-breakers have on society, several punishments for the individuals can be imposed. The first approach is that the young criminals can be banned from attending social events for days or months. This would reduce the risk that they re-offend the law, and increase their awareness of their acts. Another measure is that young people, who break the regulations can be imprisoned to experience the life of imprisoners. If immature law-offenders could live the life of former criminals, they would comprehend the consequences of law violation. Finally, these youngsters should be made watching educational videos about people, who are victims of crimes. The vivid images about those people not only discourage young criminals from recidivism but understand the impacts they have on their community.

In sum, online social platforms, and differences in monetery wealth are the main culprits of criminal acts among young individuals. By utilizing restriction to social occasions, imprisonment, and videos of crime victims, juvenile delinquents would feel the shamaness about themselves and the dire consequences they have on others.