Today family members do not eat meals together. Is this a positive or negative trend?

Dining together does not occur among family members in present days. From my perspective, I believe that this is a pernicious phenomenon. Analyzing the minimal merits of saving time and the overwhelming demerits of loosening family bonds and potential health problems would provide valid support for my verdict.

On the one hand, not having meals with other family members can bring a negligible advantage being time-saving. For example, a family gathering meal in Vietnam often takes up much time as it can only present itself once there are full attendances. Besides, there are a host of rituals during the meal, such as wishing each individual has an appetizing repast. As a consequence, eating meals with family would be time-consuming. For these explanations, I think that having repasts on a person’s own might be flexible, convenient, and time-saving.

On the other hand, having meals without the presence of other family members does more harm than good for decreasing the family bonds and taking a toll on people’s health. Initially, regarding loosening family bonds, not eating repasts with family members may contribute to the generation gap. This is mainly since mealtime is the best time for people to confess; thus grasping a better understanding of others. Therefore, not having meals with family means this invaluable time is wasted, and mutual understanding can be curbed. Moreover, without the close supervision of the senior, youngsters can get used to unhealthy diets, such as consuming excessive amounts of fast foods, leading to adverse effects on their health, even fatal diseases, such as cardiovascular illnesses. Thus, I hold a strong belief that not having repasts with family members has two principal drawbacks of decreasing the family bonds and making people’s health go downhill.

In conclusion, as for the aforementioned explanations, although the lack of dining together among family members is minimally advantageous in terms of saving time, I concur that it is a negative trend for the significant disadvantages of decreasing the family bonds and taking a toll on people’s health.