Today family members eat fewer meals together.

Why is this?

Is this a positive or negative trend?

It is certainly true that the number of daily meals that families have together has decreased from three to one. In my opinion, this is because people have busy daily schedules these days, and this situation is far from positive for family bonds.

People have more duties and responsibilities that they have to accomplish on a daily basis today than ever before. Therefore, not only parents, but also children have little time to have proper meals around a table as a family. In the morning, while one of the parents is responsible for taking children to schools or kindergartens, the other one looks after household before leaving for work. The only meal that families have together is dinner in some cases, since everybody seems to have lunch outside.

As family members are busy during the day, mealtimes are special occasions when members of families can have a talk and discuss family matters. Providing that this occasion becomes rare, relationship between children and parents can be affected. In other words, they start losing contact with each other and this situation may have negative implications in the future of a family. However, it can be argued that it has a positive effect on children, since they learn to be independent when they have meals outside with their friends. Yet, there is little evidence to support this view.

To conclude, daily chores and work make it challenging for people to have more meals together with their immediate family. I think, people should seek for ways to organize their daily routine to make it more family-friendly. If they do that, they might have a chance to strengthen their family.