today family members eat fewer meals together. Why is this? Is this a positive or negative trend?

In this contemporary era, it is observed that there is drastic change in the food consumption ways of families. In my opinion, several factors like employment, generation gap, and social media influence have transformed the dining patterns of folks all around the globe. The time spent around the dining table can play a crucial part in an individual's life, however folks are so busy doing life that they do not understand the significance of families.

To begin with, this world is a competent place and along with the extensive competition comes the hope of survival. People are unable to go home and have meals with their family because they are far away from home, working hard for the future by either studying abroad or earning wages. Another such cause due to which mankind isn't able to have lunch and dinners with the family as a whole is the generation gap. The generation gap is making life a little complicated as both the generations think and act differently. For instance, the older generation would prefer to always be prepared for the future, but the younger generation believes in acting spontaneously.

The race of keeping up and fulfilling all the materialistic needds has flushed the youngster's brains out. Social media influencers which promote ideas contrasting with the old values of love and care amongst the family members have led creating their own universe of isolation due to which they do not prefer having people around, not even family members. Some have taken the presence of family members for granted. The world is transforming into a place full of narcissists and the term family has lost its meaning somewhere.

In conclusion, relatives are not spending quality time by having meals together as they have forgotten the vital role family plays and this may lead to a world full of isolated individuals in the near future.