Today, food travels thousands of miles from the farm to the consumers. Why does this happen? Is it a positive or a negative trend?

In this day and age, the physical distance for foods to be delivered from agricultural areas to consumers is thousands of miles. There are many reasons that propel farmers to transport foods from their production sites to shops and from an educational perspective, this trend would bring negativity entirely.

The primary reason for this trend is the location of the production sites. This is because crops require fertile land and spacious location to grow as well as animals which demand different sources of food that farms can only be the provider. Therefore, those living in the suburbs or downtowns tend to purchase more agricultural products which help to generate more profits for sellers. Another reason is related to geological factors and weather conditions. In some regions, it may be possible for certain types of crops to be fully grown. Taking Canada as an example, tropical fruits such as durians or watermelons are unable to be planted as the weather conditions there tend to be dry or cold throughout the year.

However, this trend would bring negative impacts to the economy and the consumers. First and foremost, transporting foods for a long distance may cause an economic imbalance. In particular, costs related to transportations such as terminal costs, linehaul costs and capital costs, they could be added up to the final price of the productions causing customers have to bear the price. Moreover, it also negatively influences the health of consumers as too much chemicals are used. In order to preserve the products, certain additives and preservants are added to food making them to be edible for a longer time as well as guaranteeing its quality when delivered to buyers. However, if they are not washed in caution, retained residue will be the roots of health-related issues including cancer, allergy or obesity.

Taking everything into consideration, this reinforces my perspective that there are numerous roots for food to be transported for a long distance which can lead to the abovementioned consequences.