Today, the high sales of popular consumer goods reflect the power of advertising and not the real needs of the society in which they are sold. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is true that advertising surrounds our life in recent years which is attributed to hold a power impact on quanitity sales of companies in their selling products instead of the real meaning of their goods. Personally, i completely disagree with this view.

Advertisements inform us about the choices we have such as colors, styles, or benefits which attract the customer and help the companies marketing effectively. For example, we go to the supermarket, the see the new brand of notebooks but they do not know what the shapes and colors are so normally they will buy the old brands ones that means this new business will collect the low sales. Moreover, advertising can expose their glamorous designs, or their fashion and modern latest products. A good example could be a smart phone, people can queue for many hours in order to own the newest phone or buy a phone just thanks to having their idol in the commercials despite the fact that their old phones still operate perfectly. Therfore, this company can receive more profits.

On the other hand, people do not buy goods because of being manipulated by advertising. They buy something due to their needs and their likes such as the cigarettes, or the car which rarely appear on television but their profit is still stable and accepted. Furthemore, it depend on human’s demand and which class they want to sell and significantly their qualities, fame and reliance.

In conclusion, i do not believe that all the components which constitute the high sales of business come from adverts.