Today the high sales of popular consumer goods reflect the power of advertising and not the real needs of the society in which they are sold.

To what extent do you agree with these views?

In recent years, investing in advertising leads to high sales of a product, regardless of the quality of the product in and of itself. Advertising can bring certain benefits in sales but the power of advertising needs to be carefully evaluated in a view of consumers perspective. This essay argues that high sales of popular consumer goods doesn’t necessarily reflect the power of advertising, because of the biases that advertisements falsely create.

People, especially the younger generation, are susceptible to buying a product when it is advertised by their favorite artists, actors, and idols. The product attracts more people when it uses more popular celebrities for the advertisement. Hence, the high sales of the product don’t necessarily capture how good the product is. People need to purchase products based on the necessity and quality of the product, not based on how popular the celebrity is on the advertisement.

People are very prone to purchase products when they are advertised in a way that evokes consumer’s fear. In Japan for instance, first aid kits and emergency food packages were intensively advertised in a region where earthquakes occur quite frequently. The advertisement focuses on how things can terribly go wrong if you are underprepared for natural disasters.

Though consumers have their own spending habits and the way of allocating their budgets, they are responsible for carefully evaluating the advertisement of the product and determining whether they should purchase or not. It is important to be fully aware of biases you might have that were falsely caused by the advertisement.