“Today, the high sales of popular consumer goods reflect the power of advertising and not the real needs of the society in which they are sold. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is true that prevalent consumer products with high sales symbolizes the increased development of marketing but many people state that these numbers do not show the real demands of the whole society. From my point of view, a large amount of goods represents the power of trade but people also depend on other factors to purchase the products.

On the one hand, I strongly believe that promoting brand images exerts a vital impact upon facilitating the sales. Firstly, advertising is a key part of modern business. For example, employers persuade buyers into buying their products through a plethora of ways such as: eye-catcher images, special slogans to bring in higher incomes of the company. Moreover, marketing informs people about the choices we have. To illustrate, sweet company will make appealing advertisements about their products to publicize their brand, children in particular

On the other hand, there are also many factors that help customers meet their needs apart from advertising. For instance, people want to buy a new television as it offers them with Internet access to the Internet, a variety of channels related to their favourite hobbies. Furthermore, clothes in famous brands such as Gucci, Chanel, Dior draw people’s attention due to their suitable materials, eternal charming and fashion. People stand higher of purchasing a car because it does not waste electricity and it pollutes less.

In conclusion, I support the view that besides advertising, other features will also play an indispensable role in customers’ decisions to buy products.