“Today, the high sales of popular consumer goods reflect the power of advertising and not the real needs of the society in which they are sold. To what extent do you agree or disagree?”

People have different views about we are increasingly manipulated by advertising by companies that want to sell us their products. Personally, I support the idea that advertising is a key part of modern business. The purpose of this essay is to analyze the controversy in more depth.

There are several reasons why I believe that advertising is a form of modern art. One reason for this is that advertisements inform us about the choices we have. A good example could be a mobile phone. Every people can be queuing to buy the latest models even when they had already a smartphone perfectly. Therefore, the impact of marketing that made us give these kinds of decisions.

One cannot deny that the marketing companies focus on designing ads in such a way they are catching the attention of an online user. Especially when we consider Social networks like Facebook, Twitter and Instagram are being used to provide users with the information of the products that are trending. The buying, as well as the search patterns of a user, is cached and the ads related to the products of interest are then constantly flashed on his/her screen. For instance, LAZADA the most successful online retail store always pops up an “others also viewed” and “products recommended” sections on the sidebars.

To conclude, I agreed that advertisements have an extraordinary power to influence the public. Advertising obviously influences all consumers’ buying behavior. Therefore, organizations rely on ads to generate an opportunity and capitalize on them.