Today, large shopping center and supermarkets are more common than small local shops. Is this a negative or positive development

Thanks to the development of economy , there has been an increasing number of shopping malls and supermarkets built in the central areas. Moreover, many people consider that these types of shopping destinations are more convenient and common than local stores. Personally, I approve with this statement in certain aspects.

On the other hand, I understand why many people of the fervent conviction argue that such an emergence of modern shopping malls is really convenient and beneficial. Firstly, supermarkets and department store offer more discounts and promotions which local shops cannot gratify. For example, it is Vincom Center in HCM City that visitors can purchase their favorite clothes with affordable price in Black Friday. Hence, it is widely believed that visitors may save massive amount of expenditure by shopping in malls. Secondly, a wide range of stores is what the main merit of supermarkets is all about. In addition, thanks to the availability of different shops in one particular market such as fashion store, food shop, customers can save time which is spent to transfer to shops located in different destinations. That is the reason why many people around the world prefer to buy products in supermarkets than smaller stores.

However, I believe that such a higher rate of popularity in shopping malls does not mean the less importance of small shops. In addition, smaller stores adopt high-quality customer services. Compared to larger supermarkets and department stores, locally-owned businesses are likely to provide more friendlier attitudes toward customers. According to research, women in Korea incline to purchase food in local stores due to a more comfortable and satisfying atmosphere.

Taking everything into consideration, although I cannot denny the fact that such a common appearance of supermarkets and shopping malls brings about merits in term of time and money, the advantage of local malls cannot be ignored.