Today large shopping centers and supermarkets are more common than small local shops. Is this a negative or positive development?

It is a well-known fact that the development of shopping malls and supermarkets attract more interests from people than conventional local shops. I enunciate that this trend is positive effect to the benefits of costumers.

First, spacious shopping centers and supermarkets create more jobs than small local shops. In many metropolises, the number of people is higher than the available jobs, therefore, the appearance of shopping malls is particularly necessary. Moreover, people work in large shopping centers and supermarkets have better salary, working conditions and benefits, such as healthcare payment. For example, every year, Vincom shopping mall in Da Nang city employs more hundreds of people to take responsibilities for several jobs, which contributes to reduce the unemployment rate as well as city’s development.

Second, shopping malls and supermarkets have a wider range of products than small local shops. Groceries, clothes, shoes, reading material, food courts, cinemas, and entertainment are available in one place. They provide a lot of convenience to customers to purchase goods more easily as well as enjoy more entertainment facilities. Therefore, shopping malls can become the attractive places to attract many interests from tourists. Singapore, for instance, have built many magnificent shopping malls which customers can spend a whole day at the mall, shop, dine, watch a movie or play games. This is one of the most important impacts to increase the number of visitors to Singapore every year.

In conclusion, it is undeniable that the omnipresence of shopping malls and supermarkets has many positive effects on jobs and customers.