Today many children spend a lot of time playing computer games and little time on sports. Why is it? Is it a positive or negative development?

Nowadays, along with the development of internet, computer games have become an essensial part of our life for recreational purposes. However, the majority of children are likely prefer playing computer games to playing sports or doing exercises. In my opinion, this phenomenon brings many adverse impacts on children in long term.

There are some reasons why children spend more time on computer games than sports, including attractive contents, not many places left for sports and less physical demanding. Firstly, when children join in a computer game, they are allowed to immerse in a comlex storyline with the diversity of characters, sounds and colours. Also, they can control their characters however they want, which is one of the most important factors triggering the imagination and curiosity of children and encourage them to play computer games for the whole day in order to find out the story endings. Secondly, most children, especially those living in big cities, engage in sedentary lifestyle as there is less and less space for playing sports due to urbanization process. Finally, from lazy, inactive children’s perspectives, computer games are clearly less physical demanding in comparison with sports.

From my viewpoint, spending too much time on computer games without doing physical exercises or playing sports might can cause detrimental effects on children. Firstly, when chidren just sit at home and play computer games, their calories cannot be burnt, which might lead to health’s problems such as obesity and cardiovascular diseases when they get older. Secondly, compared with children who frequently take part in team sports like football, basketball or volleyball, those are game-addicted are harder to establish connections with others in real life since they do not have many opportunies to communicate with other people to develop their communication skills.

In conclusion, to a certain extent, it is undeniable that computer games help children relieve stress after hard study’s days. By contrast, playing computer games excessively without playing sports is a negative trend and it should be reduced to help children develop properly.