Some people think that the best way to improve road safety is to increase the minimum legal age for driving a car or motorbike. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, along with the development of many main roads, road safety becomes one of the most concerned problems among society. Many people argue that the optimal method to enhance road safety is to raise legal driving age. In my opinion, that way just works well in short term, yet in long term there are better measures that we should consider.

To begin with, people under legal driving age should be banned from driving because of some reasons, including youngsters’ disruptive behavior and deficiency of experience in taking part in traffic. First, youngsters are easily affected by peer pressure; when someone dare them to do something dangerous, they can become more aggressive and are willing to take risks. For example, in Vietnam, many inhabitants living beside main roads frequently witness that many young men cross a red light or speed up suddenly on those streets in order to show off braveness with their peers. Second, the majority of traffic incidents are caused by people who do not have much experience of operating vehicles. When they are not used to participating in traffic, they can easily get panic due to several ordinary things such as ambulance siren; therefore, they become more likely to cause unexpected accidents if they keep moving on the roads.

On the other hand, because most youngsters still drive without driving license, raising minimum driving age is only effective to limited extent. There are better methods that can curb the number of traffic accidents, which are providing more education schemes related to road safety and stricter regulations. Through compulsory lessons from childhood, children can not only help to shape their personalities but also raise their awareness when participating in traffic. Furthermore, government should consider imposing harsher punishments, such as fine, license suspension or even imprisonment in order to inhibit people from breaking traffic laws, thus they will not injure themselves and others people.

In conclusion, although raising legal driving age can help to avoid several traffic incidents caused by young drivers, I still believe that better education and stricter regulations are much more effective in enhancing road safety in the long term.