Today many countries import food from different parts of the world. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of this trend.

In recent time, trade is flourishing and many consumer goods are being traded around the world. It has been noticed that even food is being imported from or exported to different countries. In my view, although the advantages of this outweighs its disadvantages, the downsides of this development should not be overcome.

To begin with, some fruits and vegetables can only be grown in particular place. By importing them, people living in other parts of the world can enjoy them. For instance, kiwi cannot be grown in India, but all Indians can still enjoy this, thanks to imports. Moreover, this gives an opportunity to the unaffluent and developing countries boost their economic climate by selling their rare goods to world.

On the flip side, the drawbacks of importing of foods should be considered. It is undeniable fact that, imported and exported foods is not always healthy. As those food materials have to be transported long distances and they are inevitably preserved using chemical preservatives to extend their expiration date. These preservatives can cause dreadful diseases such as cancer. Furthermore, the importing of food can weaken the economy of poor countries.

In conclusion, although the import and export of food products is an opportunity for both sellers and buyers to earn money and enjoy exotic foods, their harmful impact on dwellers health should be considered.