Today, many parents force their children to study all kinds of courses in their early age. What are the reasons behind this? What effects do you think this practice would bring to the children?

Today’s era of competition has made life rather difficult for children. Most parents push their children not only to study but to attend and excel in extracurricular activities as well to make their resume attractive in their future. This trend will definitely make children more intelligent but at the expense of their childhood.

To begin with, there are various reasons associated to the trend that children are forced to achieve in various fields simultaneously. To enumerate, most people want their children highly competitive and capable of executing multiple skills just to ensure their secure future in terms of job, business and finances. Also, out of jealousy and comparison parents oblige children to learn different skills. In other words, after observing activities of others’ children, parents want their children ahead in race and thus make them join courses for the same.

However, this tendency has both positive and negative effects on children. Firstly, on brighter side, learning different skills make children well adapted to life. Moreover, they evolve better understanding and get well prepared to take up challenges. Consequently, this attitude enables them to take up any situation in life.

On the paradoxical side, while in this rat race of achievement kids loses innocence, fantasies, and joy of being child. Along with that, opportunities to pursue hobbies and likes are also snatched from children and such pressure may also develop negative attitude towards life. Furthermore, it hinders holistic development and growth in children.

In the light of all facts one can conclude that, motivating children to learn new skills to make them better citizens is a welcome thought. But, if it comes at the cost of childhood it must be avoided and children should be given enough space to grow and blossom with freedom and calmness.