Today, many people use the internet and smartphones to transfer money to their friends, relatives, and businesses.

Is this a positive or negative development?

Technology is evolving with accelerating pace and everything unimaginable is possible today, which include online transactions between people. Thus, society is utilizing the function of internet money transfer at full potential. Although every aspect has both pros and cons, this essay will elaborate both trends and conclude to a negative side.

To begin with, online transactions can result in loss of private data, and it always comes with several unwanted costs. While doing a transfer on the internet, we risk our personal information such as bank records, demographics and (sometimes) bio-graphics (too), to a number of intermediaries in that transaction. As a result, there can be a leak of such crucial data to hackers and fraudsters. Other than privacy loss, the “mediators”, who facilitate all of this process, charge unreasonable amounts from to the user. For instance, a normal immediate payment (IMPS) of thousand rupees will cost twenty rupees extra, if you are using any online app. In addition to these official charges, some hidden costs like the internet fee or telephone banking charges are also collected from the client, which are totally unknown to him.

Apart from certain harmful effects, has the internet banking anything advantageous to offer? The answer is definitely yes. Firstly, by using online fund transfer system (or E-banking) one can effortlessly do any transactions related to money, at his (or her) own place, and do not need to visit the branch as in normal banking. Furthermore, it results in less frequent trips to the head office of users’ bank, which help in saving travelling expenses for the client. For example, a recent study in India showed that people prefer online transactions because it was cheaper than paying fuel bills for visiting the bank weekly. Therefore, utilization of online transfer mechanism comes in handy benefits of convenience and savings.

To summarize, it may be complicated to decide whether use of the internet and smartphones for something vital as money transfer is positive or negative development, but it is clear that risking privacy and important data for some negligible savings or comfort, is truly not a beneficial situation.