Today more and more people are using mobile phones and computers. Thus, people are losing the ability to communicate face to face. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is stated that nowadays people are losing the ability to communicate in direct methods as they are using mobile phones and computers. While I agree that this would weaken the directly facing communication ability of people, I believe that its effect depends on the way people use it.

On the one hand, using cell phones and computers deteriorates one-to-one communication skills of people for some reasons. One reason is that it lowers the time users spend on direct conversation. It is proved that these leading-edge technologies make people, especially the young, addicted and give them a fear of becoming obsolete if they do not check their phones frequently. Furthermore, phone users may suffer from various mental health problems that affect communication skills like autism. The source of this problem happens when one only focuses on their online profile and forgets about their real-life social circle.

On the other hand, mobile phones and computers can help people gain some valuable skills on face to face interaction. Due to the development of video chat and face time, users can easily have direct conversations with others like in real life. In deep, it strongly benefits people who learn a foreign language. For instance, the development of some online speaking English apps like Cambly provides learners an opportunity to talk to native teachers directly and enhance their speaking skills (which was impossible in the past when there was lack of these technologies). Furthermore, by using technological devices, people can get access to some programs or game shows that teach them the way to successful communication and they can earn valuable skills from it.

In conclusion, it is certainly true that spending time on electronic devices can deteriorate direct communication skills of users, but this is by no means it only affects badly to these skills.