Today more and more tourists are visiting places where conditions are difficult, such as Sahara or Antarctica. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this trend for tourists who visit these places?

Travelling has never been as easy as it is nowadays. Individuals can even travel to such remote corners of the world as The South Pole and Sahara that have extreme conditions. While this trend brings about a number of benefits, the negative effects of this should not be overlooked as well.

There are a number of positives for tourists who travel to places with difficult conditions. Firstly, it allows them to explore different types of animals and observe them in their wild habitat. If people go on Safari tours in Africa or helicopter travels over Antarctica, for instance, they have an opportunity to watch animals from elephants and gazelles to polar bears and penguins in their native habitat. Another benefit of paying a visit to these places is the experience of different cultures, usually with primitive lifestyles. Visitors can interact with the locals, taste their food and stay overnight in local tribal villages or other small communities, which would give them unique and memorable experiences.

Choosing Antarctica or Africa as travel destinations can pose some problems for travelers, however. They might face unprecedented dangers in those places. My uncle, for example, has been to an African country as part of his job as a geologist, and stated that Safari tours are especially dangerous as most landscapes are notorious for venomous snakes and mosquitos. Besides dangers, these areas tend to lack basic facilities, ranging from clean, drinking water to poor sanitation. These drawbacks seem to deter tourists from enjoying their travels to the fullest.

Overall, although travelling to destinations with difficult conditions offers the positives in terms of exploring wildlife and culture, detriments of unexpected dangers and lack of basic needs should also be taken into consideration.