Today, more school leavers are unable to find jobs. Discuss the causes of rising unemployment among young adults and suggest solutions

It is true that there is a rapidly increasing proportion of unemployment among graduates. This essay bellow will discuss the reasons and some possible measures that universities and individuals can take to address these problems.

There are a number of factors which can be considered as the major causes of this phenomenon. The main reason is that university leavers do not meet the labour market’s needs. That can be seen by the fact that the subjects taught at schools tend to be more theoretical rather than practical while employers are likely to choose suitable candidates possessing hands - on experience and skills that are useful in workplaces. In consequence, students lacking necessary these factors may fail to find jobs. The other major reason may be from graduates’ perspectives. Students in Vietnam, for example, always hold an incomprehensive view of labour market, and as a result they only send application forms to positions which offer high salary and fast promotion.By doing this, it will prevent them from joining workforce immediately.

There are several actions that universities and students can take to reduce the unemployment rate. I think the most obvious solution for academic institutions is adjusting curricula and subjects that response the needs of employers. For instance, there may be more extra programs such as arranging visits to companies and factories, which means that students have more opportunities to observe and gain real experience and skills. A further step could be that students should rise their awareness of market’s demand so that they would choose appropriate professions that are in need.

In conclusion, various measures can be taken to tackle the problems that are certain to arise to the increase in the rate of joblessness among the youth