Today much of the food people eat gets imported from farms that are thousands of miles away. Would the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

Today, Due to the urbanization and the reduction of agricultural land, Much of the food we eat comes from farms thousands of miles away,I personally believe that the advantages outweigh the disadvantages.

The disadvantages of importing food far away from farms is obvious, long distance transport can not guaranteed the freshness of the food,for example, fresh food such as milk and meat are likely to deteriorate during the long distance transport ,if consumers eat this bad food are easy to get sick which is harm for their health.however,there are a number of advantages in long distance transport food.

Firstly,it expanded the scope of consumers choice which will make them happier, Farmer from remote areas, for example, used to be sold locally, but consumers in remote areas did not have enough money to buy so farmers would lose money. But now they can use e - commerce platforms like Amazon and Alibaba to sell agricultural products to city dwellers which will boosting economic incomes.

In short, due to the development of the economy, people's choice of consumption expanded, can eat thousands of miles away from the farm transport food, although the long-distance transport of food may have some quality problems, but whether for consumers with a variety of choices or to increase income of famers,so I think the benefits outweigh the disadwantage.