Today much of the food people eat gets transported from farms that are thousands of miles away. Some people believe it would be better for the environment and the economy if people only consumed food produced by the local farmers. Would the advantages of

Most of the food supplies consumed by people these days are produced in farms built in far-flung areas. Some people argue that manufacturing food products in local farms is environmentally and economically more beneficial. In my opinion, although it has a few drawbacks, the positive impacts largely outweigh the negative effects.

The disadvantages of depending on local food only are as follows. Firstly, in developing countries, local farms are often built on a small scale so, they do not have enough manpower or resources to generate quantities of food supplies needed to sustain a large fraction of population. Furthermore, such farms are also not equipped with advanced technologies so their manufacturing capabilities are outdated and limited.

However, I strongly believe, that advantages outweigh the disadvantages. To begin with, food prepared in local farms does not need transportation and proves to be highly cost-effective because consumers can get it at cheaper rates. Moreover, large quantities of fuel used for transportation is also eliminated which eventually leads to a significant decrease in environmental pollution. Secondly, people can get fresh vegetables and fruits, free from preservatives required for keeping food safe during import process. Finally, local population is empowered because masses are more independent in creating flavors and types of foods they like to consume. On top of it, by serving the farms working to cater their needs, masses are able to contribute in their local economy more effectively.

In conclusion, although importing edible goods from far-away areas is remarkably popular, I am of the opinion that depending on local farms is more advantageous financially as well as environmentally. Hence, government needs to empower local farmers so that population can reap the benefits of their locality to a maximum extent.