Today’s fresh food like vegetables or fruits travels thousands of miles from the rural areas or farms before it reaches customers in cities or urban areas.

Why is this? Is this a positive or negative trend?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own experience or knowledge.

It is clear that consumers, especially those living in metropolitan and urban areas, would usually spend much time waiting for fresh food which is transported from remote rural places or plantations. In my opinion, there are many reasons for the long distance of fresh food grown in farms, and this phenomenon could lead to many harmful impacts on customers and farmers.

There is no denying that delivering food from remote farms is likely to be caused by both the national polices and the public’s demand. To decrease noticeable pressure in megacities, governments tend to enter some policies in order to encourage citizens to migrate and build the rural areas. By lending cheap or completely-free plantations located far from cities and urban areas, the local authorities seem to be successful in developing them, however, it would take longer time to deliver agricultural products to customers. Furthermore, most residents settling down in the crowded cities are willing to pay the higher prices for fresh food which is labeled as ‘organic’ or ‘directly-from-farm’ products than others living in rural places. As a result, farmers would intend to transport their products to the megacities rather than other places with less opportunities for profitable promises.

With the developing tendency, I personally find a variety of negative effects not only on customers but also on farmers. Undoubtedly, to ensure agricultural food to be fresh and attractive, many mechadizers are able to use various damaging chemicals when it comes to long-distance food transportation. It also means that customers now choose the food covered with chemicals insteading of the purest and freshest one like advertising. Due to the transportation within miles, the traders have more chances to force farmers who have to sell their products with low prices, regardless of famers’ attempts to harvest their crops. While the farmers gain little benefit and profit, consumers have still spent large amounts of money purchasing agricultural food.

In conclusion, I believe that food transportation from remote places to cities have no positive benefit although there are various reasons why agricultural food is usually grown in the remote places.