In today’s world, it’s private companies rather than government to pay for and carry out most on scientific research. Do you think the advantages outweight the disadvantages?

In our modern-day society, it is considered that the number of private companies participating in scientific research is increasing rapidly. The question of whether this trend can bring benefits or not still remains controversial. Personally, I am firmly of the former opinion because of the following reasons.

To begin with, it is believed that the government can allocate budgets to many other areas of public spending. The priority of expenditures spent on national infrastructure such as traffic system or educational and heath-care facilities can lead to the development in quality of citizens’ life. For instance, the decrease of overburden in many hospitals can improve the treatment process, resulting in the higher survival rate in severe patients.

More importantly, the diversity of research done by the private sector is believed to be a significant support to the government. Since the human and financial resources of the government are still limited, the wide range of scientific investigations of private companies can contribute to the early discoveries of new conclusions leading to the improvements in many fields of life.

Some opponents of the above idea may distrust the accuracy of research conducted by private sector. For example, a research about a nutrition facts of fried potato carried out by a processed food manufacturer may provide an untrustworthy point of view. This can be true to some extent. However, the censorship of government before the publication of information can solve this issue.

In conclusion, the participation of private companies in scientific research can have positive effects on the government as well as the whole nation. The more responsibly the private sector contributes, the faster the nation will develop.