In today's world, private companies rather than the government pay for and conduct most scientific research. Do you think the advantages of this trend are more than the disadvantages?

Governmental entities used to appropriate great deals of its wealth for the scientific research. However, the majority of the scientific research has been taken over by the non-governmental businesses recently. While there are both advantages and disadvantages to such a novel approach, the downsides seem to take precedence over the potential benefits.

Those who support the notion of the private businesses funding the science cite the associated benefits that will bring to people. Firstly, by affording the bill of the scientific studies, those firms will support the national budgets of their respective states, thus create more room for the government to fund people’s staple needs, such as commodities, education and healthcare. Secondly, science is likely to flourish under the mandate of private companies. Having known that they are the immediate beneficiaries, they will want to maximize the ROI. The more money they raise, the more wealth they will reap, especially with promising projects. This will lead to magnificent competitions between rivals.

However, despite the above mentioned benefits, this trend can impact the research industry at different levels. Firstly, not only will this lead to certain businesses having monopoly over the scientific means, it will possibly be employed to serve narrow interests of the ultimate owner, which could be contradict the public interest. Tobacco firms in some countries, for instance, could manipulate the results which were originally showing how harmful the smoke is to the health. This resulted in them losing their credibility. Further, the research will likely avail those firms in the first place, rather than the public; unlike government-funded studies. In other words, private funders will sell the breakthroughs to whoever pays more in order to achieve the utmost financial outcomes and gain reputation regionally as well as internationally.

In conclusion, having introduced both the pros and cons of private sector funding the scientific research, it is obvious that the downsides outweigh the benefits.