Tourism is becoming increasingly important as a source of revenue to many countries, but its disadvantages should not be overlooked.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Tourism industry seems to boom nowadays within many countries and, therefore, is looked at as a prime source of the national income. While taking serious steps to improve this sector is essential, I strongly recommend that the downsides thereof should be considered adequate.

First and foremost, tourism bears potential threat to the ecosystem. Due the increased activity of planes flying over the regions and means of transports, such as cars and buses, the whole environment is likely to suffer. This, accordingly, results in putting people’s lives at risk. World Health Organization (WHO), to illustrate, conducted a study about the possibility of having lung diseases in several countries. They found that they higher the levels of tourist activity a country has, the higher the possibility of its people to suffer from respiratory-related illnesses. The organization, therefore, gave a few recommendations, including reducing the levels of tourists being hosted every year; since people’s lives matters.

Another pressing issue, especially for the indigenous people, is the lack of job security. Most jobs associated with tourism are season-based. This means that a lot of people in this industry are facing the risk of unemployment during the non-touristic months. Namely, in the town where I come from, the people are totally relying on tourism that flourishes, particularly, in December, July and August, when domestic visitors and international tourists flood the popular hotspots of the country. By the time they start leaving, those temporary employees become gradually jobless. This happens every year.

To sum up, I am wholeheartedly for the idea of addressing the drawbacks of tourism, such as the environmental abuse and job instability; while, in the same time, maintaining reasons to a good tourism experience.