The top priority of businesses is making money, and they do not need to have social responsibilities. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Businesess should focusing on making revenue without concerning any social responsibilities. While I accept that this perception is somewhat justifiable, I would believe that entrepreneurs should take considerations about social duties.

On the one hand, the efforts which firms try to maximize their profits are beneficial to the government and the societies as a whole. First and foremost, the more revenue corporations earn, the higher taxes they have to pay. Therefore, government bodies could spend those taxes to build more school, hospital as well as enhance some constructions that are of paramount important to their communities. Secondly, the fact that enterprises generate more profits will create more jobs for the labor market. This is because once companies own huge budget, they could expand their scale by hiring more employees. Subsequently, this tendency would bestow enormous benefits upon the labor shortage issue in our society nowadays.

On the other hand, there are a host of compelling reasons as to why I am convinced that corporations should take social responsibilities into account. One rationale is that big enterprises possess countless impacts in the general public. For instance, Samsung which is a prestigious enterprise in Korea generates charity fund annually to donate for the orphanages around their country, and this action has spread the beautiful image of this company to the public. Another justification why companies should consider helping societies is because they have money to do so. For example, some milk production corporations in Vietnam such as Vinamilk or Unilever have taken philanthropic actions such as providing scholarships or operate charities, which could not only help those who are in need financially but also enhance their companies’ public image.

In conclusion, while it is irrefutable that earning profit is the top priority of businesses, I would contend that they should play a vital role in contributing social responsibilities.