Topic 003: some people think computers and the internet are important in children’s study, but others think students can learn more effectively in schools and with teachers.

Discuss both view and give your own opinion.

The way children study, are radically different from those of any previous generation, and one of the most revolutionary changes is the application of computers as well as the internet. Education systems have sparked off the heated controversy over whether technology or teacher is the better choice for an effective training program. Personally, I think the instruction of teachers is still indispensible and will support my view with reasons and examples in this essay.

To begin with, people supporting internet and computers point out its ability to facilitate independent and economical study. Indeed, thanks to free lessons and software available on many websites, students can approach necessary materials without expenses. In addition, because the materials are originated from everywhere and are available every time, computers and the internet enable them to stay in part and study whenever they want, unlike attending traditional classes. However, there are question marks over the precision of its knowledge, which may not be recognized or authorized. Furthermore, due to students are unable to question and exchange fact with each other, it lacks of interaction is also a minus making this method less efficient.

In contrast, traditional education also has its own strength. Despite the subjectiveness of teachers place it at a disadvantage, its interaction is still high, because when children go to school, they will be able to learn from not only instructors but also each other. In addition, teachers are experienced enough to ensure that students’ development is orchestrated stage by stage, and their acquisition of knowledge is guided and backed up in a systematic way, which is less likely to achieve when they learn by computer of on the internet.

To sum up, there is no denying the fact that the internet and computers are of great use in assisting children’s study, but traditional training seems to be more effective thanks to its high interaction and likeliness to equip students with systematic development. Technology should be encouraged to become an assistant rather than to substitute teacher in the future.