Topic 1: Crime rate, in most countries, is often higher in urban areas than in rural areas. Why do you think that is? What can be done to reduce the crime rate?

Today, Soaring crime rates in urban areas have sparked considerable public debate. Although this issue can be attributed to a host of reasons, some feasible solutions can be utilized to address it.

Some reasons can be cited to explain the emergence of this problem. Firstly, drug trafficking is the underlying cause of increasing crime rates. Specifically, urban areas are appealing places for drug dealers to make profits by targeting vulnerable persons suffering from unemployment or a broken relationship. Besides, many scientists suggest that the human brain is susceptible to the side effects of drugs; means that addicts are more likely to commit crimes after getting high.

Nevertheless, this situation can be remedied, provided that some reasonable steps are taken. First, the government should take the initiative to tighten the law to reduce drug trafficking and drug dealers. Besides, along with fixing the loophole of law, education is the essential step to reduce the crimes. By giving criminal knowledge, It not only helps them realized the harm of illegal activities but also provide them with another chance to affiliate with society.

In conclusion, the problem of soaring crime rates exists due to drug trafficking. Tackling this problem depend not only on the individual’s effort but also on society's attempt to diminish the crime rates.