Topic 1 Nowadays children watch much more television than they did in the past and spend less time on active or creative things. What are the reasons? What measures should be taken to encourage children to spend more time on active or creative things?

Nowadays, the issue that children are highly engaged in watching television has been receiving a great deal of public attention. Although this concern can be attributed to a whole host of reasons, some feasible solutions should be taken into account to address this problem.

There are a number of reasons to explain screen addiction in children. First, since there are thousands of attractive entertaining shows, movies, and music at disposal, they trigger children’s curiosity to binge-watch all day. In fact, intriguing motions and contents on TV make children glue their eyes on, which also makes them lose track of time and forget other priorities, like studying. Second, by working with full-time schedules, parents have no choice but to leave their children with TV for mental rewards. This means that they hardly find enough time to play with their offspring, making children resort to watching TV in their free time.

Nevertheless, there are several feasible solutions for TV addiction in children. First, in order to separate children from television, parents should galvanize their kids to sign up for clubs or sport teams. For example, children have to spend more time on Participating in physical activities like playing football, going cycling, walking or joining art clubs, which helps children forget about television programs over time. Second, if tasks keep parents occupied, they can set limited viewing time for kids. This means that children will form their viewing habit that they can only watch one or two hours per day, which tackles a screen habit in kids.

In inclusion, this problem is caused by many reasons, and some solutions will be considered to solve it. By considering all reasons for TV addiction in kids, parents can seek the most practical solution.