Topic 21: The quality of life in big cities is decreasing. What are the causes and what actions should be taken to solve this problem?

Nowadays, it is said that, despite the high development in some certain facilities such as infrastructure, living in urban areas has to suffer from the decline in the quality. The causes of the given problem are varied, and some solution tackling this will also be discussed below.

There are many negative factors make the living quality in large urban areas decrease, but just two of them are most concerned. First of all, the overpopulation is easy to realise in cities throughout not only the high birth rate but also the number of immigrants pursuing careers in here. Therefore, if there are many people living in the same place, the suitable public facilities will be not enough for all of them such as the medical equipment in the hospitals. Second, as can be seen, that the urban areas are usually recorded with the higher possibility of pollution than others. In fact, large cities attract lots of enterprises and factories, which emitted the gases into the atmosphere or pump the sewage into the rivers carelessly. When the city residents expose to this chemical stuff, they can suffer from many serious diseases among which lung cancer and sore throat are typical examples.

To handle this detrimental tendency, solutions should be applied immediately. The first one is that the local authorities must have the responsibility for stabilizing the citizens’ life. For instance, they should enact and pass the law which helps to limit the number of people immigrating to the city. Additionally, this approach also plays a crucial role in the crime reduction. The media campaign is another option to solve this problem. Nowadays, media has the impact on the behaviours of people, so taking advantage in it can help to express the message. By this, they will have more perspectives about where they are living and aware of the phenomenon among which gases and sewage caused be factories and firms are typical examples.

In conclusion, although there are so many reasons that cause the decrease in the quality of life in urban areas, some effective solutions could handle this problem.