Topic: Children have more and more tests and exams to do at school, sometimes starting from the age of 5 or 6, right up until the age of 18.

What are the advantages and disadvantages of making children do exams?

Besides economic growth, governments also focus on enhancing education in order to students can gain knowledge quickly. But educators still use tests and exams as a way to evaluate their capacity, therefore a growing number of final examinations are taken by children. However, is this phenomenon benefits or there are more drawback than advantages? In this essay, I will explore the pros and cons of taking the examination.

I will start by looking at the advantages. Doing tests and examinations throughout the school year help teachers easily estimate the understanding of students in a concrete subject. Obviously, the number of pupils is outweighed than teacher quantity so they have a limited time to share with all of their students. So assessment is a way for them to follow schoolchild’s educational path, thus they can understand clearly which subjects children need to be improved.

On the other hand, this approach might also bring negative effects on students. It can be very easy to put a strain on students, who want to get a high score, if they have to complete the exam. Children in Korean, for instance, spend almost ten hours on a daily basic to learn and this figure will be increased dramatically in the time before the final examination. Clearly, these factors will broaden several spiritually burdens into children and take their own time away.

In inclusion, there are clearly both positive and negative to doing tests and examinations. While this approach can be a great solution for teachers, for many children, they have to cope with various difficulties. Personally, I believe the government should reduce the number of tests that students have to take and evaluate children via activities and experience.