Topic: It is becoming increasingly popular to have a year off between
finishing school and going to university.
What are the advantages and disadvantages of this?
Taking a gap year before attending college has recently gained enormous
popularity amongst high school graduates. My essay below will analyze both
the benefits and the drawbacks of the phenomenon.
Having a year off after high school graduation is advantageous in some
certain aspects. First, students can utilize this period of time to travel to
acquire knowledge of various fields such as foreign languages and cultures.
This would be more difficult during their years at university owing to their
intense studying schedules. Second, many high school graduates benefit from
taking a temporary job before starting their college life. Due to the
inadequate provision of career orientation in high school, sparing another 12
months looking for a job or signing up for a vocational course is considered a
remedy for students to figure out their future path.
From an opposite angle, the disadvantages of a gap year before college are
varied. Initially, compared to the students having a year off, those who go
straight to university after high school are more likely to have a permanent
job early. They finish their academic studies one year in advance, hence
better opportunities to get a job with stable incomes. More importantly, high
school seniors might lose their studying habits as well as discipline. In other
words, one year spent on travelling or working can demotivate them from
following tertiary education.
In conclusion, despite some benefits in terms of traveling and working, taking
a year off before college life might both jeopardize students’ occupational
opportunities and result in studying discouragement.