Topic: Many people believe that international tourism is a bad thing for their country. What are reasons? Solutions to change negative attitudes

Foreign tourism is often thought to have negative effects on the host country. There are a number of reasons for this opinion, however measurements can be done in order to solve the situation.

International tourism may get the most criticism for the effects on the environment. Tourists often bring snacks or any packaged products along on their trip. After finishing devouring the snacks, they may irresponsibly discard the packages onto the streets. This paves the way for soil pollution, also water contamination if the rubbish is thrown into the oceans or rivers. This act also prevents attempts to reduce waste of the local community from keeping the area clean and beautiful. Furthermore, tourism is responsible for jeopardising the traditions of the host country. Many tourists may be insensitive to the customs and ignore the feelings of the local residents. For example, Asian nations bear a dressing code for sacred places such as pagodas and temples. However, some foreign tourists still dress in inappropriate clothes, exposing their skin, and this somehow is an insult to the tradition of the country.

Nevertheless, by adopting solutions, the situation may easily be improved. The government should encourage their citizens to have an open mind on this problem, since tourism is indeed a huge profit earner for a country, and by participating in, local residents do get benefits. Additionally, tourists should be aware of culture differences and measurements should be done to encourage them to get rid of trash correctly.

In conclusion, there can be many ways to explain why the negative attitudes towards international tourism exist. However in my opinion, the government plays an important role on changing the situation for both local residents and tourists.