Topic: most large countries nowadays operate multi-nationally. To what extent do you agree or disagree that multinational companies have responsibility toward local communities in which they operate?

It is common to see the large-sized cooperation base their office in several countries. I believe that while they focus on maximizing their profits, they should cater to the needs of wider society, especially the local communities where they work.

From the social perspective, multinational companies should be accountable for creating jobs for the local people and treating them well rather than exploiting them. This is because no sooner are factories constructed than farmers is deprived of farmland, leading to unemployment and the spread of social vice in their neighborhood. Therefore, it is of paramount important to cater to people’s lives here. For example, only by paying the reasonable wages do they can meet the materialistic life and shoulder financial burdens. In addition, the ceaseless development of business always coincides with the damage of environment. Hence, firms have to safeguard the environment by adapting dynamic environmental technology to recycle water and reduce toxic fumes into the air.

Besides, it is mutually beneficial as to when business subsidizes a small proportion of their profit to local charities and education initiatives. Actually, taking social responsibility is considered as the most effective to build their reputation, promote their images and attract the attention of local communities. It is also understood that only giving the local incentives do business expand the customer base and hold the larger market share. Take Microsoft as a telling example of a well-known cooperation which provides a great number of computers and softwares to schools at remote areas, has become the most prosperous computing brand in the world.

In conclusion, multinational companies should be spurred to take social responsibilities which bring a wide range of benefits not only for business themselves but also local communities.