Topic: Some people claim that not enough of waste from home is recycled. They say that the only way to increase recycling for governments is to make it a legal requirement.

To what extent do you think laws are needed to make people recycle more of their waste?

Today, governments are launching programs to recycle the domestic wastes in order to save natural resources. Some people think that the best measure to increase the amount of waste to be recycled is imposing a law which will make people recycle more. I can see the rationales from this proposal and I strongly support to legalize it.

There are many certain benefits from recycling wastes. First of all, recycling is to save the earth and environment. Recycling results in cutting down less trees of which paper is made. Trees are the lung of our planet; they not only help purify the air but also keep underground water and prevent erosion. Second, wastes normally contain toxins and they end up at landfills could contaminate the soil. Plastic bottles, for example, can release DEHA that cause reproductive problems and liver disease, if they reach the plants, animals and bodies of water when lying under the ground. Even newspapers and paper contain ink which can be toxic to the ground.

Furthermore, recycling raise people’s awareness of protecting the environment. Once people are accustomed to recycling, they will start thinking of why and how important it is to protect the environment. They will educate their children and encourage them to participate in environmentally friendly activities.

In addition to the above, recycling saves money. There are some companies that pay cash for trash to recycle. Therefore, we can get some money for selling our recyclables. Moreover, the recycled items are usually less expensive than non-recycle products.

In conclusion, for the benefit of our life, it is necessary to make proper decisions to ensure the best future possible. I believe once recycling becomes a legal requirement, it will help increase the amount of recycling wastes and also enhance awareness of environment.