Topic: When a country develops its technology, the traditional skills and ways of life die out. It is pointless to try and keep them alive.

To what extent you agree or disagree?

Presently, many advanced technologies have been developed to improve people life and maximize the productivity. Some people contend that the development of technologies has led to the end of traditional skills and lifestyle, whilst others think it is worth to preserve them. I can see the issue from both perspectives, however I consider the latter to be a stronger argument.

Those who state that there is no point to keep traditional skills and lifestyle believe that advance technologies outweigh traditional skills and change our lifestyle. Nowadays, machines are applied in all fields of production because they bring about higher productivity and more accuracy while it is limited to use manual labors and conventional method in production. Advance technologies also allow a wide range and a diversity of products. In addition, our lifestyle is currently formed by modern technological advances which save us time and bring about convenience. For example, most of us today use internet to communicate with each other, send emails, and purchase things instead of handwriting letters, going to market to buy what we need.

There may be some truth to the above argument, however preserving traditional skills and ways of life is of critical importance as tradition also means culture and history. All nations have their own traditional skills, which manifest their culture and history, have been maintained and developed from generation to generation. Japan is well-known both as a hi-tech country and a place where all traditions are valued and preserved such as wagashi (a traditional skill of making cake) and ceramic making. These traditional skills are Japanese prides and admired by people around the world.

Furthermore, another point in terms of this issue must be considered is that traditional skills and lifestyle serve as a basis to develop modern technologies. We can see that many machines are invented upon traditional skills. For example, embroider machine and sewing machine was based on conventional techniques.

While it is clear that there are sound rationales which support both sides of this argument, however I consider the assertion that the traditional skills and lifestyle goes along with development of technologies.