Topic: Some people think that children should begin their foreign language study at a very early age. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this trend?

Learning a foreign language at an early age is a new trend followed nowadays. Even in schools’ curriculum, subjects with different languages might be a must. There are, certainly, some consequences of applying the education of new languages on young children, both positive and negative results.

On the one hand, youthful children are quick learners, as well as great adapters. Compared to older generations, they are capable of being flexible, creative, and inventive. The earlier children start training, the more opportunities they can have to approach the foreign language in an exploratory manner as they are being exposed to unpressed learning sessions and exercises. Last but not least, young kids are very curious, which really helps motivate studying. Besides, their curiosity can be a beneficial factor for them to expand their knowledge about cultures and society while being educated.

On the other hand, learning other languages while having not got the hang of the mother tongue yet can make the kids use their native language improperly or forget partly about it. Furthermore, despite spending a similar amount of time training, not every child can learn the same portion as the others at such a young age. If their ability varies greatly in one class, standardizing and teaching all of them fittingly could be challenging. Finally, it is undoubted that, learning a totally new language is tiring and requires a lot of time to master. It, indirectly, increases the burden of a pupil who is supposed to learn new things in a stress-free environment.

In conclusion, there are both benefits and drawbacks of children learning a new language at a very young age that needed to be considered seriously. This might work unsurprisingly well in terms of the flexibility, creativity, and curiosity that youthful kids possess, but it can also turn out to be a two-edged sword and bring about many disadvantages. The learners have to understand both the foreign languages and their mother tongue at the same time while carrying the burden of needing to study other necessary subjects as well. Additionally, the teachers can have a lot of difficulties educating unstreamed classes with various levels of mastery in the language.